subscribe: Posts | Comments

2017 Open Championship

1 comment

2017 Open Championship At Royal Birkdale: Some Interesting Facts To Know Before The Game Starts

The Open Championship is the oldest of the four major championships in professional golf. It is the third major of this year, after the U.S. Open and the PGA Championship, and is scheduled for mid-July.

The Open was first played on 17 October 1860 at Prestwick Golf Club in Scotland and was restricted to only professionals.

This year, it will be the 146th edition of The Open Championship which will be played on the Royal Birkdale Golf Course in Southport, England.


  • The British Open is officially called The Open Championship, or simply The Open because it was the first Open Championship. Only Americans call it the British Open because they need to differentiate it from the U.S. Open.
  • “Young” Tom Morris won the British Open for four consecutive years, a feat that has not been matched.
  • The oldest and youngest winners are father and son. The oldest winner of the British Open is 46-year-old “Old” Tom Morris (1867). The youngest winner is 17-year-old “Young” Tom Morris (1868).
  • “Old” Tom Morris made the record for the largest margin of victory in the British Open, an achievement he accomplished in 1862 when he won by 14 strokes. Tiger Woods broke Morris’ record for the largest margin of victory in a major championship when he won the 2000 U.S. Open by 15 strokes.
  • The tournament is organized by The Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews (R&A), which is the governing body of golf outside of the United States and Mexico.
  • Gary Player is the only golfer ever to win The Open Championship in three different decades (1959, 1968 and 1974).
  • Harry Vardon has the maximum number of British Open wins (6 Victories). The victories occurred in 1896, 1898, 1899, 1903, 1911 and 1914.
  • The 2017 event will be the tenth Open Championship played at the Royal Birkdale Golf Club. The most recent was in 2008, where Pádraig Harrington successfully defended his 2007 Open Championship title from Carnoustie.
  • The 2017 Open Championship will be the 146th Open Championship, played from 20–23 July 2017 at Royal Birkdale Golf Club in Southport, England.
  • The winner of the Claret Jug at Royal Birkdale will receive the biggest first-place purse in Open Championship history. The champion golfer of the year will earn $1,845,000 from an overall purse of $10,250,000. Whereas, the 1st runner-up will earn $1,067,000.
  1. Bob Courter says:

    It is the third Major of the year after the Master’s in April and the U.S. Open in June. The 4th Major of the year is the PGA in August

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *